

An ACEEE 30th Anniversary Policy & Analysis Conference: Energy Efficiency – Advancing Our Economy, Environment and Security

Policy Conference

Tuesday, De	cember 7			
7:30 am to 6:00 p 7:30 am to 8:30 a		Thurgood Marshall NE Foyer Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom		
8:30 am to 9:30 a	m Plenary Topic Session: Role of Energy Efficiency in Achieving Energy Security, Environmental Protection and Economic Strength	Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom		
Welcome:	Carl Blumstein, Board Chair, American Council for an Energy-Efficie	ent Economy (ACEEE)		
Lead Presenter:	Ernest Moniz, MIT Department of Physics			
Moderator:	Peter Smith, Pataki-Cahill Associates			
9:30 am to 10:00	am ACEEE: 30 Years of Energizing Efficiency	Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom		
Speakers:	Steven Nadel, Executive Director, American Council for an Energy-E	fficient Economy (ACEEE)		
10:00 am to 10:1	am Break	Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom		
	Sponsored by: ICF International			
10:15 am to 12:00) pm Policymaker Perspectives	Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom		
Lead Presenters:	Gov. Edward G. Rendell, <i>D-PA</i> Rep. Bob Inglis, <i>R-SC</i>			
Moderator:	Peter Molinaro, Dow Chemical Company			
12:00 pm to 1:30	pm Lunch – Speaker: Administration Perspective	Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom		
Speaker:	Steven Chu, U. S. Department of Energy Secretary			
Moderator:	Art Rosenfeld, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory			
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm Breakout Sessions				
Session 1: What role should	energy efficiency play in climate policy?	Thurgood Marshall South Ballroom		
Panelists:	Patrick Woodcock, Senator Snowe's Staff Elizabeth Craig, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency David Littell, Maine Public Utility Commission			
Moderator:	Stephen Wiel, Collaborative Labeling and Appliance Standards Prog	ram (CLASP)		



Session 2:	Thurgood Marshall West Ballroom	
How can we in	acrease innovation (R&D) around new technologies and processes, including best roles for the public and private sectors?	
Panelists:	Arun Majumdar, Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) John Wall, Cummins Power Generation Inc. Carl Blumstein, California Institute for Energy and Environment (CIEE) Clay Nesler, Johnson Controls	
Moderator:	Maxine Savitz, Honeywell (Ret.)	
2:45 pm to 3:0	0 pm Break Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom	
	Sponsored by: Johnson Controls	
3:00 pm to 4:1		
Session 1: What is neede	Thurgood Marshall South Ballroom d to make big improvements by 2050 in the efficiency of our buildings, factories, transportation and utility systems? What are the near-term steps?	
Panelists:	David Greene, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Melissa Lavinson, Pacific Gas & Electric Company R. Neal Elliott, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE)	
Moderator:	Dominic Vergine, ARM	
Session 2: Innovative Sta	Thurgood Marshall West Ballroom te, Utility and Local Programs and Integration of These Programs with Federal Efforts	
Panelists:	Frank Murray, NYSERDA Scott Bernstein, Center for Neighborhood Technology Roland Risser, U.S. Department of Energy	
Moderator:	Tim Stout, E Source	
4:15 pm to 5:0	0 pm Concluding Panel Discussion Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom	
Key thought le	eaders give their opinions as well as comment on the day's discussion	
Panelists:	Heather Zichal, <i>White House</i> Chris Miller, <i>Senator Reid's staff</i> Jason Grumet, <i>Bipartisan Policy Center</i>	
Moderator:	Kate Offringa, North American Insulation Manufacturers Association	
5:00 pm to 5:1 Introduction:	5 pm Closing and Transitional Remarks Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom John I. Taylor, <i>LG Electronics USA, Inc.</i>	
Speaker:	Dan Reicher, Stanford University	
6:00 pm to 8 Welcome:	3:00 pm ACEEE 30 th Anniversary Gala Reception Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom Alison Silverstein, <i>Board Chair</i> , ACEEE 30 th Anniversary	
Remarks:	Cathy Zoi, U.S. Department of Energy, others forthcoming	
	Presentation of ACEEE 30th Anniversary Awards ACEEE • 529 14 th Street N.W. Suite 600 • Washington D.C. 20045	



Analysis Conference

Wednesday	, December 8	
7:30 am to 6:00 p 7:30 am to 8:30 a		Thurgood Marshall NE Foyer Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom
8:30 am to 9:15 a	m Introduction & Welcome: What Informatic and Analysis Policymakers Need	on Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom
Welcome/Modera	tor: Suzanne Watson, American Council for an Energy	y-Efficient Economy (ACEEE)
Speaker:	Fred Upton (R-MI), House of Representatives [Inv	ited]
9:15 am to 10:45	pm Breakout Sessions	
Session 1: Data Needs		Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom
Panelists:	Stephanie Battles, Energy Information Administration Marvin Horowitz, Demand Research LLC John Collins, Senator Carper's office	
Moderator:	Elizabeth Hicks, KEMA	
Session 2:		Coolidge
Jobs Analysis		
Panelists:	Bob Pollin, University of Massachusetts, Amherst Jim Barrett, Clean Economy Development Center Chad Stone, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities	
Moderator:	Skip Laitner, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Econ	nomy (ACEEE)
Session 3:		Wilson B
Technical, Econo	omic and Achievable Energy-Efficiency Potential	
Panelists:	Mike Messenger, Itron Maggie Molina, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Ec Danny Harvey, University of Toronto	conomy (ACEEE)
Moderator:	Angie Kline, CenterPoint Energy	
10:45 am to 11:0 11:00 am to 12:3		Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom
Session 1:		Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom
National Energy	Models	
Panelists:	John Conti, Energy Information Administration Michael Davis, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Skip Laitner, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Econ	nomy (ACEEE)
Moderator:	Jud Virden, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory	



Coolon	1
Session	4

Session 2:		Coolidge	
Climate Analys	is and the Role of Energy Efficiency		
Panelists:	Hill Huntington, Stanford University Reid Harvey, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency		
Moderator:	Mark Levine, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory		
Session 3:		Wilson B	
Scoring/Assess	sing Policy Proposals		
Panelists:	Erin Boedecker, Energy Information Administration Steven Nadel, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (/ Allen Stayman, Senate Energy & Natural Resources Committee	ACEEE)	
Moderator:	Steve Morgan, Clean Energy Solutions, Inc.		
12:30 pm to 2:0	0 pm Lunch – Keynote Presentation	Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom	
Speaker:	Jon Wellinghoff, Chairman, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission	n (FERC)	
Moderator:	Rose McKinney-James, Energy Works Consulting		
2:00 pm to 3:30	pm Plenary Topic Session: Analysis and the Public Perception	Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom	
Speakers:	Edward Maibach, George Mason University Center for Climate Change Communication Gwynne Rogers, The Natural Marketing Institute Scott Stapf, The Hastings Group		
Moderator:	Moderator: Alexandra von Meier, Sonoma State University and California Institute for Energy & Environment		
3:30 pm to 4:00	pm Break	Thurgood Marshall NE Ballroom	
4:00 pm to 5:00	pm Concluding Discussion and Closing Remarks	Thurgood Marshall SW Ballroom	
Speakers:	Art Rosenfeld, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Neil Brown, Senator Lugar's office John Jimison, House Energy and Commerce Committee, R. Neal Elliott, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE)	
Moderator:	Gene Rodrigues, Southern California Edison		
5:00 pm	End Of Conference		

5:00 pm

End Of Conference



Special Thanks to Our Conference Funders

Gold Sponsors:



Conservation Services Group







Pacific Gas and Electric Company®

Silver Contributors:





Proudly Operated by Battelle Since 1965

Break Sponsor:



