ACEEE Names Four Champions of Energy Efficiency

August 16, 2006

Media Contact(s):

Wendy Koch, 202-507-4753, Senior Director, Marketing & Communications

PACIFIC GROVE, CALIFORNIA — The American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE) presented four Champion of Energy Efficiency Awards at its biennial conference, the Summer Study on Energy Efficiency in Buildings. These awards recognize leadership and accomplishment in the energy efficiency field. Winners are selected based on demonstrated excellence in program implementation, research and development, energy policy, private sector initiatives, or international initiatives. The winners for 2006 are:

  • Cheryl Harrington, Director, Regulatory Assistance Project, for her lifelong leadership on energy efficiency policies in the utility field. The Regulatory Assistance Project, led by former state utility commissioners, researches energy policy issues and educates utility commissioners around the country on key policy issues.
  • The Bonneville Power Administration for its long-term and renewed commitment to energy efficiency as an electricity resource. Bonneville Vice President Mike Weedall, who will accept the award, is responsible for many of the organization's innovations over the last 25 years.
  • The Champions of Power Supply Efficiency:
    Chris Calwell, Ecos Consulting
    Andrew Fanara, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    Noah Horowitz, Natural Resources Defense Council
    John Wilson, California Energy Commission
    for their research, advocacy, management, and partnership abilities in working to transform a key technology market. This team's efforts promise to transform the ubiquitous electronic-device power supplies that festoon our electrical outlets.
  • Don Fisher, Fisher-Nickel, Inc., for his leadership in changing national markets for energy-efficient food service technologies. Supported by Pacific Gas & Electric and other organizations, Don has blended technical skills, innovation, and persistence into an outstanding record of accomplishment.

These winners were nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of ACEEE's Board of Directors. Selection criteria were based on the nominee's impact, innovation, and leadership in the energy efficiency field.

Learn more about the 2006 Champion of Energy Efficiency winners and keep current with what's happening at Summer Study by reading the onsite newsletter, The Grapevine. Daily editions are posted every morning from August 13 – 18, 2006.