American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy Presents 2012 Champion of Energy Efficiency in Buildings Awards

August 14, 2012

Media Contact(s):

Wendy Koch, 202-507-4753, Senior Director, Marketing & Communications

Pacific Grove, Calif.—The American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE) presented four Champion of Energy Efficiency Awards last night at its 17th biennial Summer Study on Energy Efficiency in Buildings. The awards recognize leadership and accomplishment in the energy efficiency field. Winners are selected based on demonstrated excellence in program implementation, research and development, energy policy, or private sector initiatives. The winners for 2012 are:

  • Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) and U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources staff Deborah Estes and Allen Stayman for shepherding important energy efficiency legislation through Congress including the Energy Policy Act of 2005 and the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007.
  • Eng Lock Lee, Trane Singapore, for world-leading HVAC design and engineering that shows the rest of the world how much energy can be saved through good engineering, innovative design, and attention to details.
  • Jeff Harris, Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance, for his pioneering efforts to advance energy efficiency through market transformation, emerging technologies, regional energy efficiency programs, and upgrades to codes and standards.
  • The California Energy Commission Building Codes and Standards Program and the California Utilities’ Statewide Codes and Standards Team for, in the Energy Commission’s case, nearly 40 years of successful efforts to develop improved energy efficiency codes and standards that drive large energy savings in California for businesses and homeowners, and for the California utilities’ (Pacific Gas & Electric, Sempra Utilities, and Southern California Edison) valuable assistance in advancing energy efficiency codes and standards in California and helping spur actions in the rest of the United States.

The winners were nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of ACEEE’s Board of Directors from an impressive group of over 120 nominations. Selection criteria were based on each nominee’s impact, innovation, and leadership in the energy efficiency field.

Learn more about the 2012 Champion of Energy Efficiency winners and stay connected with what’s happening at Summer Study by following @ACEEEdc and #SummerStudy on Twitter and by visiting and reading the onsite newsletter, The Grapevine. Each day’s edition is available every morning from August 13 through August 17, 2012. 

The American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy acts as a catalyst to advance energy efficiency policies, programs, technologies, investments, and behaviors.